Confessional Fridays: Flirting with my past

For all my complaining about not having enough good IRL friends, I’m sure not doing much to remedy the situation.

In fact, I’m not take advantages of situations that would help me meet IRL friends. Like a meet up of local moms at a wine bar near my house. That I didn’t go to last night.

I planned on going. I had emailed that I would go. I marked it on my calendar. I was even looking forward to it. And then the time came and I didn’t go. I just didn’t want to.

And now I feel pretty disappointed in myself.

The truth is I’m struggling right now. A lot. And I’m not completely sure why. I also don’t know why last night the thought of shooting the shit with a bunch of mothers between sips of wine felt reminiscent of writing a thesis paper. I really, really didn’t want to go. But then, part of me was so disappointed when I didn’t.

When I was in high school and college I wanted desperately for someone to love me. I was never in a relationship during that time and I was sure I would live my life without anyone to ever tell me they loved me. I was also certain that if someone did love me, my life would have been indescribably better, perhaps perfect.

I know now that I was depressed. I knew it at the time, but not in the way you can know something that you’ve had a chance to walk away from and examine with the benefits of time and distance. I don’t believe you can ever really see something when you’re completely immersed in it. The reality is I started struggling with depression while becoming an adult. I knew that something wasn’t right, but I also didn’t know what it felt like for that something to not be wrong. Surely “not depressed at 23” felt very different from “not depressed at 16.” Eventually, I came to find that the difference was significant but only later could I understand what “not depressed at 23” meant for me.

Now I see that I couldn’t be in a relationship during that time not because I was unlovable, but because I was incapable of love. Not only was I unable to extend love to others, but I couldn’t love myself. We’ve all read in a fortune cookie once that we can’t love others unless we love ourselves. And you know what? It’s true.

I’m reminded again of that. I’m also discovering that when you don’t love yourself the love of others does little to remedy the situation. On the contrary, it feels strangely burdensome. When you sink into the thick, sucking muck of a depression the love of others is just another responsibility, another reason to struggle and fight to pull yourself out when you’re so tired and all you want to do is succumb.

When you’re in a relationship others depend on you. Your moods aren’t just your own, they belong to both you and your partner (or your family). Or perhaps they belong only to you, but your family has no choice but to live with them. Like your annoying guest who has outstayed his welcome: he may be your responsibility but ultimately your family has to shoulder all the inconvenience that he creates. And it’s even more frustrating for them when the bathroom is unavailable for hours at a time or the TV is keeping everyone up because your family can’t do anything about it. You should be telling that guy to just get the hell out, but you don’t.

And just like you will ultimately have to kick out your own unwelcome visitor, you will have to find away to kick out the low feelings that are affecting not just you, but everyone around you. The problem is, sometimes you don’t know how.

I got some really devastating news from a close friend yesterday. The kind of news that makes you question everything. My heart breaks for my friend and I feel so helpless in the wake of her tragedy. I wish I knew what to say or what to do but I feel so helpless. Maybe it’s because I know that nothing anybody can do will ever lessen her pain.

It makes me so sad and it also reminds me that I have so much. In four days my own beautiful daughter turns one. Why does writing that sentence make me cry? Do I mourn her babyhood so intensely? I absolutely adore the toddler she is becoming; I would argue that the next twelve months will be more wonderful than the first. And yet I feel the reality of it wrapping around me, constricting my lungs until I can no longer draw breath.

In seven days I start summer vacation. I will have eight weeks of blissful, almost uninterrupted time with my daughter. I am very much looking forward to this. I am so pleased to have this opportunity. This is why I became a teacher! This is why I tolerate the low pay and the combative parents and my district (and state’s) complete lack of professional respect. I do all of that so I can have these weeks with her, to be her mother without also being someone else.

I have so very, very much and yet all I see is the emptiness between the things I should be celebrating. I see the holes in our bank accounts that cause us such financial stress. I see the scarce hours at night when we’re too tired to pursue our interests. I see the stretch of bed between us and feel the emotional distance it represents. I see the space that would be there if it weren’t filled with all my useless crap. I see how perfect my house would be if I weren’t too lazy to clean it. I see how much more effectively I would teach if I could just muster up some enthusiasm. I see the sympathetic ears that would be available if I knew how to cultivate friendships. I look past everything that I do have to focus on what I don’t.

I know it just takes the slightest shift in perspective to celebrate what is there instead of focusing on what is not. I just can’t remember how to make that shift. Instead I remember this muddled, gray, exasperated feeling of depression. This morning a song I used to love came on and the familiarity of how I felt was shocking. It was almost like nostalgia. Can you feel nostalgic for one of the harder times in your life? Was it just a nostalgia for the familiarity of it, for the effortlessness with which I could resume that role?  At a time when everything in our lives is being changed by our “parent” identities maybe I just want something that doesn’t require so much work, even if that something makes me miserable.

Of course, it wouldn’t be the same even if I did succumb to the depths of depression. I have no time for the self-indulgence required. Too many people depend on me, one of them entirely. And I love my family too much to invite that obnoxious visitor in for an extended stay. He may have been a good friend back in college, when we could stay up late and sleep in later, when we could get drunk without worrying how to work through the hang over, when we could leave pizza boxes in the kitchen for a week because we didn’t need the counter space anyway. He may have been tolerable back then when self-destruction didn’t cost so much, when I didn’t really have anything to lose. But now? Now I have a everything to lose.

And I need to go tell this asshole to go wallow elsewhere because I have no intention of doing this depression thing again.

15 responses

  1. I think everyone has those times where they seem to actively work against their own happiness. I, too, am looking to get involved in a mom’s group, but my hesitation is mostly fear of the unknown – am I really going to fit in with these people, will they count me as less than a real mom because I didn’t give birth to my son?
    I’m one of those that has a hard time getting my butt up and moving, but once I do I feel amazing. Whether it’s cleaning the house, making that phone call I’ve been meaning to make for a week, etc. Once I’m IN ACTION and moving, it seems easy. Just getting there is hard.
    Sigh. You’re definitely not alone there.
    I hope you enjoy your summer vacation!

    • I think you’re right, I am getting sucked back in to actively working against my own happiness. I need to stop that, even if it’s easy and familiar. I too do pretty well once I get started, but sometimes getting started is so hard. Thanks for the kind words of support. And good luck with your mothers group. I’m sure everyone will be wonderful.

  2. I am so sorry you are feeling this way. My heart hurts for you, because it is so familar- I struggle with depression as well. I really encourage you to get out and get to know other women- even if you feel it’s superficial or you have nothing in common, just being around people usually helps me. And hooray for summer vacation- the BEST part about being a teacher 🙂 I know you will savor every minute with your daughter. Oh and I do know exactly what you mean about being sad and happy about Isa turning 1. There are so many wonderful things to come and you get to be there as she develops her personality, interests, and individuality, but she’ll never be a tiny baby again. Oh, I understand those tears. Hang in there.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I know I do need to go out and if I do I will feel better. It’s just hard sometimes. But I need to push past the hard part. I think I just feel that meeting with other moms is frustrating because even if you meet someone you like it’s so hard to meet up with them ever again. If your babies are on different schedules it’s pretty much impossible. I have quite a few mom friends I’d love to see more but I just don’t have any time to see them. It’s hard. Being a mom is so isolating, even if you do have friends.

      Isa turning one is much harder than I expected. I just can’t believe a year ago today I was about to go into labor. It seems like only yesterday and yet a lifetime ago. I guess that is what motherhood will always feel like.

  3. It’s hard to understand the vicious cycle of knowing what would make life better and yet feeling like you just don’t have the ability to do what you need to that is depression until you have been there.
    I understand why you didn’t go to your mom’s group. Connecting with others requires a lot of energy. When it works, it gives you back far more than you put in, but it’s still not always easy.

    Just think of all that you can do once you have those days to yourself (exercise, lunch dates, play dates, etc.). I know that you will feel better soon. Hopefully, very very soon.

    • I know I need to put some energy into me to feel better. This is just a hard time because I have too much going on to spend any time on me. This weekend I’ve actually had some time to watch a some TV and I started a fun novel. That has done a lot to help me feel better. Sometimes we just need a little time for ourselves. I even went out and saw Bridesmaids with a friend and it felt amazing. At the end I was so happy to go home to my partner and daughter. Which reminded me that while I love doing those things, I love my family more and I”m so happy to have them to come home to.

  4. wow. What can I really say? I get it. I totally relate to every word. And I want to reiterate what you said in that last paragraph again, in the words that woke me up from my depression: a good mommy is a happy mommy.
    I grew up with a father who suffered from anxiety and depression. My parents tried to hide it from me. But I saw it, and I learned from it. I am working my ass off to ensure that my children will have a happy mommy. Fight for it.
    But remember to fight for it without putting yourself down. Self-flagellation is of no use to those of us trying to reach for happiness.
    And I still owe you an email. It will be forthcoming, just had a crazy week.
    In the meantime, sending you hugs!

    • Thanks Mo. Its nice to know that others can relate to what I’m going through, though I wish no one had to go through this kind of stuff. I think my mom suffered her fair share of depression. With a daughter who died at 3 months and three still births I can’t imagine she didn’t. She was just really good at hiding it. She grew up without a mother and with an abusive father. She literally had to work (and fight) for everything in her life. There was just no time to worry about herself and how she felt. She was just trying to survive. I never learned from her how to make myself a priority, because she has never been a priority for herself. I want my daughter to have a happy mother and I don’t mind if she knows I have to work for that happiness. Learning how one can work for happiness would be a valuable lesson indeed. Thank you for reminding me of what I want to be for my daughter. She deserves the best of me and that is what I want to give her.

  5. Wow. This post gave me the chills.

    Doesn’t it suck that some of us have to work so hard to be happy? And yet, we know it’s worth the struggle.

    Hugs.

    • It is worth the struggle. Perhaps that is all I have to remember right now, when I’m so tired of the constant struggle – that it’s worth it.

  6. It is SO hard to kick that guy out. In some ways, the visitor is familiar and comfortable, even if he *is* a pain in the ass. It takes much less energy to let him stay.

    It’s funny … I *run* a mom’s group (just for moms who work outside the home and face unique challenges), but sometimes I don’t want to go to my own events. It just takes energy that I’d rather not expend. And yet, I know that I’ll get energized if I can muster up the get up to go.

    I wish I lived closer … I would drag you outside and take you for a walk with Isa (not that this would “cure” you, but at least you might begin to feel connected). Sending hugs, instead.

    • Why am I so surprised that you run a mom’s group? I guess I shouldn’t be but I am. I know what you mean about events. I’m always so excited to plan them and then when they get there I’m like, oh god, I have to go?! I feel like that for my daughter’s birthday party next weekend. It rained like crazy yesterday and I thought, “if it rains like this next week we’ll have to cancel the party” and a small part of me was relieved. It’s so much work to be the hostess. So much work to be saying hi to everyone. But it also can be fun and more often than not, for me, it is. I just have to remember that in the days leading up to it.

    • I know you do Noelle. I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately. I hope things are looking a little less dark.

  7. Hugs. Part of the reason I’m taking a break is for the very same points you brought up. Once I identified that I was in a depression pattern I decided I need to refocus on myself to not get in deeper. It’s only been a week and I’m finding it hard to not turn to the computer but I’m working on it. And that’s a step in the right direction.

Leave a comment