155

155It finally happened.

At nine months postpartum (last week), I finally saw 155 on the scale. Actually, I saw exactly 155 on the scale, which I thought was pretty cool.

It took me almost three weeks longer than I had hoped to get there, but it bears mentioning that 10 days of that three weeks I was in St. Louis–during which time I gained no weight despite not walking as much and not being able to exercise–so all in all, I’m pretty happy.

I continue to not watch my intake as closely as I’d like, but I am making myself stick to three reasonable meals a day with no snacking in between, so it could be worse.

I’m working out three times a week, doing 30 minutes on the elliptical followed by Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred (which is not almost a 30 minute workout, despite what the DVD cover says). I’m on level 2 now, and it’s finally starting to feel manageable without breaks (those workouts are no joke!). I’m walking to pick up Osita at least three times a week–my daily steps are usually between 10,000 and 13,000.

I go back to work in three weeks, and during one week of that Osita will be home (so no working out, or greatly reduced working out). I’d love to lose another three pounds in those three weeks but honestly, at this point, I’m pretty happy where I am. Of course I’d be thrilled to get back down to 145 or (god forbid) 140 like I was before Osita, but I have some clothes to wear now and I my body no longer feels cumbersome and unfamiliar. In fact, for the first time in a long time, I feel strong, and I like that.

I guess the plan moving forward is to just keep working out when I can (and I’ll have to figure out what is doable once I’m back at work again, I highly doubt what I’m doing now will be sustainable when I’m working full time) and keep watching what I eat. I doubt I’ll be on the scale much now that I hit my big goal of 155. I guess I’d like to be down to 145 before the holidays in a few months, so that gives me plenty of time to lose 10 pounds. I hope I eventually get there.

How are you feeling about your body these days? 

20 responses

  1. I’m feeling pretty horrible about my body lately. I’ve had issues with my ankle/leg for months, and finally found out that it’s a limb length discrepancy (caused by a break in my growth plate 14 years ago!) and tendonitis as a result of the uneven strain on my muscles. I haven’t been active in months and still no real improvement in my leg. It’s so frustrating.

    • I’m sorry you’re feeling down about your body. That is a pretty awful place to be, and I know exactly how it feels.

  2. YAY!! That is fantastic! I was hanging out at 159 and then went back up to 160-161. GRR. I think I might be eating too FEW calories actually, so I need to tweak things a bit. Good for you for hitting your goal!

    • I think it’s REALLY tricky to lose weight when you’re breastfeeding. I just couldn’t do it. I applaud you for trying. I had to weight until I stopped pumping to lose weight–it was just too hard before hand.

  3. Good for you! But no surprise, you are working hard girl! I’m considering the 30 day shred, would you recommend it? How long DOES it take to get through? I just haven’t been making time for anything other than pure cardio (running) and I’m feeling weak and un-toned everywhere but my legs.

    • I would recommend the 30 Day Shred. I think it’s a great use of time (it’s about 28 minutes, in actuality) and it definitely does a good job of toning things up. My arms and shoulders look great! And my legs are a lot stronger too. It’s a great way to give your body that extra oomph that cardio alone can’t deliver.

  4. That is fantastic news! Congrats on all the hard work you’ve been doing. I’m not feeling so hot these days with my body. I’m working out, watching what I eat…and nothing. My clothes feel a bit looser, maybe it’s all in myhead…and I feel more energetic but man! I’d love to see the scale say, 140.

    Awesome job!

    • I find that I can’t just “watch what I eat” to lose weight anymore. I have to do REALLY intensive food tracking and keep my calories down pretty low. Once I’ve been doing that for a few weeks I can stop the tracking, but it takes a total overhaul of how I’m eating to get to that point. It sucks. I’ve heard this is what being in my mid-thirties is like, and that it only goes downhill from here.

  5. My weight is not budging at all and is stubbornly holding on at about 10 lbs heavier than I’d like. I suspect it’s going to be that way until I’m done breastfeeding (which is totally different from my first breastfeeding experience, where I lost all the baby + more almost immediately!). I’m trying not to stress about it right now but it kind of sucks. Congrats to you on reaching your goal. I can imagine how amazing that feels!!

    • I had the same thing happen to me. The first time breastfeeding melted all the weight away. This time I couldn’t lose a pound when I was breastfeeding. It wasn’t until I stopped that they started coming off. So weird (and frustrating).

      This is my first big goal, but I still want to lose 10 more pounds, I’m just not in such a desperate hurry to do it. I feel okay now, but in order to get back into my full wardrobe, I still need to drop a size.

      • It helps me to hear that you’re finally losing now that you’ve stopped breastfeeding. At least I now know that I may not see any change until then. Thanks!

      • I want to clarify that I didn’t really lose ANY weight the second time. I stayed at where I was right after Monito was born for six months. It was maddening. It took me a LOT of work AFTER I stopped breastfeeding to get down to 10lbs over my ideal goal weight this time around. Everyone says it’s because I’m 34 now instead of 30 but it seems unlikely to me that those 4 years made such a huge difference.

  6. I’m actually losing real weight for the first time in what feels like forever. I’ve lost 11 lbs so far, and I’m curious to see how much more I actually lose. My body doesn’t feel different, but hopefully it will soon. For the first time I can remember, I have days when I screw up, but I don’t use that as an excuse to just stop. The next day, I try again. It’s so exciting.

    • That is awesome Deborah. I know what you mean about just crashing the wagon into a ditch when you have a bumpy day. I used to do that ALL THE TIME. I am good about being okay when I have a “bad” day too, and even letting myself have bad days and then feeling okay about reigning it in the next day and keeping it reigned in for a while. I think, when I go back to work, I’m going to really track my calories to get into a good flow right off the bat, so I know what a work day should look like. Hopefully then I can stick with that plan and lose the last ten pounds pretty easily.

      I still can’t really believe that it took me three months to take off 15 lbs. I know that is what they recommend, about a pound a week, but still, it sucks. I’m hoping some of it is added muscle too, and that I’ve lost more fat than that. I’m comfortable in a ten now, but I want to get back down to an 8 to wear the majority of my clothes. At least I’m finally out of my maternity stuff. Thank god!

  7. Good for you!!!! Wow!

    I’m feeling really good here. My goal weight for my 10 week fitness program was 156.5, I think, and I’m pretty close now with 3.5 weeks left. I’ve revised the goal to 153-154, which leaves me 9-10 pounds to go, as of this morning. I’m working out in some capacity every day, and usually pretty hard – so I think I’ll for sure hit 156.5 and hopefully 153. I’ll be honest, I’ll be disappointed if I’m not 154 when the ten weeks are up. I’m sitting at 17.2 pounds after 6.5 weeks, but it doesn’t really sound like that much, even though I know it is.

    I’m mostly excited about how I feel. I’m so much more relaxed!

    • You lost 17.2 pounds in 6.5 weeks?! That is AWESOME! It took me almost 3 months to lose 15 lbs. I’m hoping to lose the last 10 in the next two months. We’ll see if I can manage that once I go back to work full time. I’m not holding my breath.

      • It’s been a very rigorous fitness plan, and one that I’m very committed to. I’m having a hard time getting enough calories based on my calories burned. I’ve completely changed how I eat (much needed change) so I’m eating smarter and cleaner (leaner). My rate of loss isn’t suggested, but I’m doing fine so I’m going with it.

        5 pounds a month is much better for you (the general you and not YOU). And let’s remember, I was pretty big – not my biggest, but far from my ideal!

Leave a Reply

