All Joy and No Fun

It’s funny how things happen sometimes.

Sometimes it just feels like kismet.

This afternoon I sat in my car, with Monito asleep behind me, listening to the final three minutes of All Joy and No Fun by Jennifer Senior. I just finished it and I have to say, IT WAS AMAZING. SO, SO GOOD. INCREDIBLE. (Yes, caps lock is totally necessary right now).

From the minute I started this book, I’ve wanted to review it for all of you because truly, it’s a fantastic book. One I think you’ll want to read. One I think every parent should read.

The thing is I kind of suck at writing about stuff I love. I feel like I’m forgetting stuff or misremembering, or omitting important details, or not making the intended connections. A lot of times I don’t ever get around to actually writing about it because I worry I won’t do it justice.

So I just don’t do it at all.

I was suspecting that might the case with this book, but I started taking notes so I could incorporate them into a post, if I ever got around to writing it. That is how badly I wanted to write about this book.

Then, not thirty minutes after I finished the book, I open my read to find Mo’s review of it. When I realized she had read the book–and loved it–I started vibrating with excitement. I couldn’t believe the coincidence. I had just finished this amazing book, and didn’t quite know how to write about it, and then here was a brave and talented writer, who I know and love, DOING IT FOR ME!

So without further ado, I will send you over to Mo’s post. Because it’s awesome, and it perfectly encapsulates everything I loved about the book. I do hope to write more about how the book affected me personally, but for right now I’m just going to send you to Mo, because she does a better job of explaining how and why it’s so awesome than I ever could.

2 responses

  1. Aww thanks hon!
    I did look up Brene Brown after finishing the book, funny enough – and watched her TED talks – awesome stuff.
    Don’t you just love stuff that makes you realize that hey – that stuff you thought was crazy and only you thought about? Turns out it’s totally normal.
    Love love love it!

Leave a Reply

