Money Sucks

This is going to be a whiny post. Proceed and your own risk.

We found out what our tax returns will be. Mine is less than I expected, though I should have been expecting exactly what I got. I changed my W-4 at the beginning of the year so they’d take out less and I’d have more money each month. Well I did have more money, about $200 month a more, and so I got about $2400 less back on my taxes. The math adds up, and I was preparing myself for the reality of it, but I suppose I was hoping for a miracle. Mi.Vida was the one who got all the “extras” this year, more months of paying interest on our mortgage (12 instead of six), another kid to claim, etc. He did get more back than last year. Combined we got about the same as we did last year. It’s a good deal of money, it just doesn’t feel so big because we were expecting more.

I’m obviously putting mine toward my debt. After I do that I’ll still have about $4000 on cards that are currently accruing interest and $2500 on cards that won’t accrue interest for about six months. I was hoping to put some of MV’s refund toward my debt as well, but that won’t be happening because we have to deal with a plumbing issue in the tenant’s unit. We’re not sure how much it will cost yet, but I’m guessing it’s going to be quite a lot of money. I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s as much as his refund, in fact.

All this means we won’t be having our wedding party this summer. I’m really disappointed about it. My parents offered to help us with it (they offered to pay for it, actually, but I don’t think they realize how much it will cost to rent a space in the city and provide food and drink for the amount of people we’d want to invite). I’m hoping my parents will just give us the money they would have spent on the party, so we can put that toward my debt. I honestly don’t know what they’ll think about that. It just doesn’t seem appropriate to have a big party when we can’t even pay off our credit cards, but I’m embarrassed to ask them for the cash. They don’t really know how bad a place we’re in financially.

Ugh. This sucks. I know it’s not really that bad, and that it could be so much worse. I know millions of Americans have it so much worse. We’re not losing our house. We’re not uninsured, nor are we drowning in medical debt because we weren’t uninsured. These problems are not insurmountable. It will take time, but we will get back in the black. It’s going to take longer than we expected, and we’re going to have to make some sacrifices, but they are the silly kind of sacrifices that don’t matter much in the end.

Yes it sucks not to celebrate our long awaited marriage with our friends and family. But a lot of things suck a lot worse. We have our children. We have our families. We have our home. We have our health. We have each other. The rest isn’t really necessary, and I’d be better off remembering that.

4 responses

  1. Aw I’m sorry. That is such a bummer. I hope you will get to celebrate your wedding some way some how, even if it is smaller.

  2. It DOES suck, and I’m sorry you are in this position. I admire you for trying to seek the good in the situation, and staying positive. Money troubles are pretty high up there in terms of causing real stress on people/relationships.

  3. Yes, there’s always someone who has it worse. I’m reading your post and reminding myself that while I still have thousands in medical debt, I am current on all my payment plans and making progress. Same for the credit cards – current on payments and making progress. Not losing my house (and in fact, being a homeowner already puts me & you ahead of most people). But it’s frustrating. Sometimes that logic helps, sometimes it doesn’t.

    This might be bad financial advice, but if you can come up with some sort of payment schedule for your credit cards (maybe pay off the $2500 before it starts accruing interest), and then as long as you’re sticking to the schedule, if you can fit party expenses into your remaining budget, have the party anyway? I don’t think you need to pay off ALL the debt before you can have ANY fun.

Leave a Reply

