Time Flies

Last week, after a week of cold, stormy rains, I was going to write a post about how winter finally arrived in California… in April. And then today it was 82*F in San Francisco (which is unheard of). I have to admit, I have enjoyed both extremes.

The warm weather today had me thinking of summer. I have very found memories of last summer, I was 5-7 months pregnant, clearly showing but still feeling really comfortable and capable. Osita was still in school even though I had summer break and I spent all those hours alone completely redoing our backyard, exercising and taking long walks, listening to Game of Thrones on audiobook. It was an idyllic summer in a lot of ways. I felt so incredibly thankful for the life growing inside me, I was so excited for our family to be complete, and I was so grateful to have some time to myself to really revel in my own interests before our second child came and everything was turned on its head.

It’s hard to believe it’s been almost a year since that summer. My son was born, and we’ve transitioned to a family of four. He will be seven, eight and nine months old this summer. He’ll be sitting up, experimenting with real foods, he may even start crawling. I’m so looking forward to spending the summer with him, especially the hours alone while Osita is at school. I’m just as excited to spend the mornings, afternoons and evenings with Osita; after so much one-on-one time with a babbling baby, I’m sure I’ll be jonsing for some four year-old energy and spunk (and verbal capability). Most of all I’m looking forward to the laid back nature of time off, that feeling of having time to do what needs to be done, to not feel so rushed, to not be so tired.

This summer I’ll be done breastfeeding and my body will be my own for the first time in well over two years. After over a year of trying, nine months of pregnancy and six months of breastfeeding, I can’t WAIT to have my body back. I’m going to take my ADD meds again, and pop Claritin whenever I need it. I’m going to drink beers without thinking about when I next need to pump, or indulge in Diet Cokes without guilt. Oh it’s going to be so, so amazing. I cant’ wait.

Yep, I’m ready for summer. For warmer, sunnier days. For time with my family. For sleeping in. For lazy mornings. For working in the yard and taking walks and sweating on the precore. I’m ready to visit my grandmother, aunts, cousins and cousins’ kids in St. Louis. I’m ready to celebrate my daughter’s fourth birthday (with an actual party this year). I’m ready to celebrate my birthday, and Mi.Vida’s too. We may even celebrate our marriage with a big to-do! (We’re still figuring out that one.) I’m ready to revel in the absolute best part of being a teacher… June, July and August.

I’m ready. And it’s only nine weeks away (and one week is Spring Break)!

Man, time really flies. I can’t believe it’s so close. I can’t believe how much has happened. Last summer feels like a lifetime ago, and just yesterday.

Just like this summer feels both so close, and so far.

Either way it will come, and I’ll be ready for it.

BRING ON SUMMER!!!!

Are you ready for summer? What are you most looking forward to?

 

4 responses

  1. I am definitely looking forward to spring/summer. We had a brutal winter and I spent most of it hiding our house. I’m going to get together with my mommy group to take our kids for walks and then let them lose in the park. If hubby is still at home with us, we’ll go to Centre Island, the zoo and plenty of parks with splash pads. Mostly, we’ll get out of the house.

  2. This post made me smile so much, especially that adorable baby photo!
    We live so close to the equator that there is very little seasonal variation, although I have noticed that we get very little direct sunlight in our apartment around the winter solstice, but about 6 long hours of sun pouring in around the summer solstice. It’s just a shift in the angle of the sun (at least on sunny days, it also rains a lot here)
    Hope you enjoy your backyard and babies to the fullest this summer!

  3. It’s funny, I totally remember your backyard project last summer. It’s hard to imagine that was almost a year ago! I hope you enjoy the summer with Monito this time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

