Death

Death. It seems to be all everywhere these days. The sudden, unexpected kind. The tragic kind. I mean, death is always tragic, but in the past few days I’ve watched from the sidelines as a drunk driver crashed through a barricade into a crowd of people leaving a concert at SXSW (were Mi.Vida was enjoying his eighth consecutive year at the music festival), a student’s father died suddenly from a routine, outpatient surgery, while the 5th grader was away at outdoor education camp, and a blogging friend lost a close family member. All these deaths were sudden and unexpected, stealing away not only loved ones, but any sense of certainty or security.

We all know death and loss can strike at anytime, but we let ourselves forget. We allow ourselves to function within the facade of “it won’t happen to me.” But it can always happen to us. Always. And some day, it will.

For some of us, it has.

I’m not trying to co-op anyone else’s loss. I know I don’t feel their pain. I’m lucky–for me, all these deaths are just a reminder of the inevitable. I’m trying to reframe these tragedies (as they relate to me) as a reminder to be grateful for what I have. And I do. But it’s devastating, and upsetting, to witness the unraveling of other people’s lives, to linger on the periphery of their grief, to be confronted with the inevitability of loss.

Life goes on, until one day it doesn’t. And that’s a terrifying prospect.

My heart goes out to everyone who has lost someone in their lives.

Abiding with you.

4 responses

  1. So so true. We’ve been struggling with this here as well. Death has been in front of us for months as my friend struggles to fight liver cancer with a newborn in tow, and now with the latest sad news in our blogging circle. People are dying too young… younger than us in many circumstances. And that is scary shit.

  2. Thank you for your honest and beautiful thoughts on death. You are so correct in that people think it’s something they can avoid, that won’t happen to them. “Life goes on, until one day it doesn’t. And that’s a terrifying prospect.” Those of us with dead children have a totally different view of this, at least I do. I’m not scared to die anymore. That doesn’t mean I WANT to die, it just means that when it’s my time, it will finally be the time that I get to spend with my kids in heaven.

Leave a Reply

