One of Those Days

I have a feeling today is going to be one of those days.

Why, You ask?

Because I just dumped 18 ounces of breastmilk that I painstakingly pumped and kept cold yesterday down the drain. Because I left it out on the table all night. Like an idiot.

Because I woke up with a wicked cold and my throat is on fire and I’m already coughing up all kinds of nasty stuff.

Because my sweet boy who usually sleeps 12 hours straight hasn’t done that once since I went back to work this week. I haven’t gotten a complete three hour stretch of sleep in three days. And I haven’t gotten more than five hours patched together in that time.

Because I used the last of my Starbucks gift cards and I won’t be able to get a coffee this morning, and I’ll be lagging all day without the caffeine.

Because the robe I’m wearing right now while I pump wreaks of baby spit up and it’s making my stomach turn. I’m so behind on the laundry I doubt I’ll ever catch up.

Because I have to tutor tonight and I don’t want to but we need the money so I have no choice.

Because I can’t stop crying about that stupid breast milk, making its way down the drain. How could I have been so stupid?!

I know they say don’t cry over spilt milk, but it’s hard not to.

Yep, it’s going to be one of those days.

Funny how I intended to write a post about how we’re making it work, because right now I don’t really feel like I’m making it work at all.

Isn’t that ironic?

Don’t ya think?

{I hope you all have WAY better Wednesdays than I’m set to have.}

{Sorry for this woe-is-me post. I promise to get over myself and my spilt milk.}

7 responses

  1. Having to throw painstakingly pumped milk down the drain is a horrible start to anyone’s day. I did the once as well, and let me tell you, I literally cried – and NEVER forgot to put it in the fridge again. *sigh* I hope your day gets better from here and you don’t end up sick…

  2. We found out my little boy was allergic to eggs a little bit before his first birthday. I had to throw out all my frozen breastmilk because there was no way to know if I had eaten eggs before pumping. It was gallons and gallons of milk. It was so hard getting rid of it. It still makes me feel a little sad even a year and a half later thinking about all that pumped milk going to waste.

    • I’m going dairy-free starting this week and if we find out that my son is sensitive to dairy, I’ll have to throw out close to 300oz of frozen breast milk. I’m not even letting myself think about that yet. I’m SO SORRY you had to throw all that out. I’m sad for you, just thinking about it.

  3. I’m sorry. I knocked over a bottle of pumped milk and spilled it once. It was 2 years ago and I still remember it, so clearly it was traumatic (this was when I had crap supply and pumped 30 minutes for that 4 oz!)
    I hope your day gets better!

  4. Thinking about you today. What a horrible start to the day. 😦 Hoping that by the end of the day, you can sit back and relax with a glass of wine. You deserve it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. I still vividly remember finishing pumping 2 YEARS ago, going into the kitchen, unscrewing the pump parts from the bottle, and then dumping 4 ounces of fresh, warm milk down the sink. And I remember screaming, “no!!!” before breaking into sobs. I feel you. I’m so sorry. I don’t usually say this – but I do understand that feeling.

    The day has to get better, right?

  6. It’s really ok to cry over spilt milk. Sometimes it helps. I hope your day wasn’t nearly as bad as you had expected. BTW, did you see our girl crush is the keynote speaker at BlogHer this year?! I’m currently plotting in my head how I can get myself there (probably won’t happen, but I can dream, right?)

Leave a Reply

