Treading Water

Before I start, I want to thank those who gave my bloggy awards and assure them that (1) I am aware that I have been awarded said accolades and that (2) I do intend to respond with appropriate posts. Right now I’m just barely treading water, as I adjust to this new insane pumping schedule. To anyone who has pumped exclusively for any length of time I commend you: You are a better person that I. If I didn’t have to do this to keep a horrible infection at bay I would have totally thrown in the towel by now (yes it’s only been 48 hours, clearly I’m not cut out for this shit) Seriously, I have not figured out how to salvage some semblance of my life while pumping 6-7 times a day. I definitely will not be pumping for any longer than I have to.

Except I will have to pump for a while. Two weeks of very regular pumping to drain my breasts and prevent a recurrence of mastitis. Then I have to very slowly ween these milk bags by dropping just one pumping session a day for four days, and then dropping another for four more days and so on until I’m down to one and then none. Needless to say, it will take a while.

So yeah, pumping is nuts. I’m happy to be giving Monito the good stuff but I’m absolutely over my any guilt or second guessing I had about quitting breastfeeding. Feeding him a bottle is SO MUCH LESS STRESSFUL for me. I didn’t realize how stressed out I was until I wasn’t doing it anymore. I also don’t miss so many other things, like milk spraying everywhere, my clothes getting wet, the need for multiple burp rags to catch the spray, etc, not to mention all the thrush medications and ointments both of us had to be subjected to. While I don’t appreciate the dishes bottle feeding creates, I’d much rather wash four parts every time I feed my son than have to change my entire wardrobe and slather ointment all over both nipples.

I’m sorry I write about nothing else besides my breastfeeding saga. My brain will be able to latch onto other ideas soon, I promise.

I’m also sorry I’ve been a shitty commenter. I AM reading, I promise. I’m just having a hard time finding the time to say anything back. Lame I know. I’m hoping as I get a handle on my pumping schedule I’ll find time to comment more. We shall see.

I hope you all have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

