Purging

One of the things I’m most excited about this time around is the ability to purge all my stuff as I’m done with it. With my first child I spent so much time packing everything away and carefully storing it at my own house or at my parents’ or in-laws’ houses. This time I can get rid of everything as soon as I’m done using it, and surprisingly, the purging has already begun.

I spent this afternoon going through my maternity clothes, packing some clothes to take to a consignment store, others to return to a friend and still others to keep here because I’m still using them (and probably will be for a while). I have three giant IKEA bags full of all the girls clothes I was keeping at my in-laws house in case I had another girl and needed them again. Now all those clothes are headed to a friend who has a daughter 2.5 years younger than my own. Seriously, this friend could get by without ever buying her daughter an article of clothing, that is how much I’m sending her way.

I even started packing up gender neutral/boy baby clothes to pass on. I was given a bunch of newborn clothes that Monito never even fit into and now even some of his 0-3 month clothing doesn’t fit, especially not with the cloth diapers we use. So already I’m folding up the tiny baby clothes and putting them in bags for others to enjoy. It’s bitter sweet to be sure, knowing I’ll never need those tiny clothes again, but it’s also freeing. Everything we grow out of can be given away or sold. I’m so relieved that I no longer have to worry about saving anything for an uncertain future. It can disappear forever and I won’t have to think about it again.

And so I go through things constantly, making piles and moving stuff out of my house. It’s cathartic in so many ways, and it helps me work through the reality that this is it, our last child, the last time we get to experience all these things. It’s hard and it’s easy. It feels great and it terrifies me, just like most everything else in life.

One response

  1. I am SO excited for this. We have very few tiny clothing items for little man, but I’m sure we’ll manage just fine. We purged all of the little girl clothes when we found out he was a boy (bags and bags and bags of them), and it will be exciting (and a bit sad, I’m sure) to get rid of the swings and jenny-jump-up and bumbo seats and and and….. over the course of the next year. Infants have an incredible amount of stuff, and I’m excited to get more organized about it all!

Leave a Reply

