F*ck

I have thrush.

Again.

I didn’t even make it two weeks before I got it.

I suspected I had it late last week. My breasts were burning and itching all the time. My nipples ached. I was downing ibuprofen just to get through the days. I knew the symptoms, but I didn’t want to believe I could get it so quickly.

Last time it took me three months to get rid of the goddamn stuff. I don’t think I can do that again this time.

I just hope it doesn’t cause me to cut short our breastfeeding. That would make me so sad.

Fuck.

Fuck. Fuck. Fuck. Fuck. Fuck.

7 responses

  1. Oh no! I am so sorry. I remember those frustrating early days. The good news though is that it sounds like you are experienced at this(sorry in this case that you’ve also experienced thrush before this sucks!)… I always used the website Kelly mom so I’ll include the link here though I’m sure you already know about it. http://kellymom.com/bf/concerns/child/thrush-resources/

    I just couldn’t read this without telling you that I am thinking about you. I know those early days are so wonderful but a blur. I know that the sleeplessness can be hard and especially if you’re already feeling overwhelmed. I just wanted you to know that there are tons of people out here thinking about you.

    Xo

    Pam

  2. A friend of mine from LLL dealt with thrush several times and then came across this article, which helped her knock it out for good. http://holisticsquid.com/thrush/
    I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this right now! Newborns are hard enough, newborn and toddler and thrush, yikes! ((hugs))

  3. Aw that stinks. What helped us was me using disposable breast pads that I changed twice a day (or more often if they got soggy faster) and I ate a lot of yoghurt (which it looks like may not be the best idea but it helped my gut I think). And I took fluconaz.ole too for a couple of weeks. Actually in weeks zero to about 6 post-baby I wore a towel that I changed every couple hours and did oodles of laundry because it was cheaper than going through a breast pad an hour. I hope something works and the thrush goes away soon. If you try the meds and they don’t work, demand something else. Some candida is resistant to that first drug so they might need to try a bigger gun med. or taking it longer.

  4. 😦
    I think my thrush was fairly mild, but I had luck taking probiotics and grapefruit seed extract. I also gave them both to C (put them on my nipples or in pumped bottles). And after I nursed, I’d sit uncovered for a little bit (a few seconds) to air dry. But it sounds like you’ve probably already done all the research & tried different options. I hope this bout doesn’t last long!

  5. I’m so sorry! I hope you figure out a way to get rid of it- it sounds so painful. I’m on the other side of the spectrum with under supply. Why is it always so complicated?!?

Leave a Reply

