Insomniac

I wanted to participate in the Time Warp today but honestly? I’m a bit of a wreck right now. I’m three nights into a little bout with insomnia that is KICKING MY ASS. I know insomnia is very common during pregnancy but I am not someone who ever has to deal with insomnia. I just haven’t even been afflicted before, except for a few isolated times during my year in Spain.

Now I’m dealing with it all the time. It’s really hard. I feel so exhausted during the day, but I refrain from napping because I heard that would just exacerbate the situation and when I was napping before the insomnia it kept me up an extra hour or two the night of the nap. So I’m not napping, even though I’m a zombie by the time Isa is sleeping (and even worse after she wakes up).

So no naps. I listen to my Hypnobabies tracks before bed, which usually send me right to sleep (I don’t have the one specifically for sleep issues, but I’m looking into getting it) but lately, no dice. I’m thinking about getting a sound machine like my daughter has in her room, mostly because my husband’s snoring is not helping the situation. I wish there were something I could do about having to pee a million times a night, but there’s not. And of course, I can’t control when my daughter wakes up and needs me.

The issue is, I can’t seem to fall asleep until midnight or 1am and then I usually wake up around 4:30 or 5am

It seems like most of my issues are outside of my control. I might just be done getting decent sleep. So it’s 10 more weeks of being a zombie before this baby boy comes and then another 10 months after. 😉 I’m sure I’ll be fine.

Sorry for the whine fest. I’m just really not doing very well right now.

4 responses

  1. I have no idea if this would work, but have you tried going to bed earlier? Like kids – when Stella is sleeping like shit, we put her to bed earlier and she magically sleeps harder and longer. Maybe it will work for you too! Pregnancy insomnia sucks…

  2. Yes, try a sound machine. I’ve been sleeping so much better since we put one in Charlotte’s room and I consequently hear it on the monitor right by my head. Insomnia is just the worst- I hope you can get some relief.

Leave a Reply

