What must it be like…

…to go through one’s entire pregnancy withOUT thinking about still birth or preterm loss EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.

What must it be like to experience a kick without wondering if it will be the last?

What must it be like to not carefully,
gently, fold every assumption about the future in “if’s” and “maybe’s” and “we’ll see’s”?

What must it be like to assume your child will come to you like everyone says he will?

What must it be like to feel that unbridled joy without any twinge of fear?

What must it be like?

I honestly can’t imagine. I just can’t.

But I wish I could. I really, really do.

4 responses

  1. Oh, I so wish I could too. It must be so nice to know nothing of the horrible things that can happen. I wish I could experience pregnancy like that. I wish I could un-learn what I’ve learned.

  2. I feel like this about a lot of things- l wish I could sometimes just be blissfully ignorant. I’m so sorry you have to deal with so much pregnancy fear and anxiety. I wish there was some way to take that from you 😦

Leave a Reply

