Rectifying Mistakes

I’ve been writing about pregnancy.

A lot.

I’m not going to apologize for that. I think I’ve done a good job of being sensitive. I am careful with my words, I express gratitude and I don’t rarely complain. Not that I think pregnant IF bloggers should follow those rules, it’s just important to me that I broach the subject diplomatically.

It’s also important to me that I’m honest.

I will admit, there hasn’t been a whole lot else going on in my life lately. Or maybe pregnancy is just easier to write about. Or maybe this is the only place I can go to get out all the pregnancy stuff, so it happens a lot here. For whatever reason, pregnancy has been the topic of most of my posts since last February.

And that would be fine, except I promised myself I wouldn’t do that.

I don’t want to alienate people. I don’t want women to feel like they have nothing to relate to here if they aren’t pregnant. I don’t want people to think I’m nothing more than a gestational tool. Again, it’s not that I’m against bloggers being all-pregnancy-all-the-time, it’s just not what I wanted for me, in my space.

But it’s exactly what I have been doing.

So from now on I’m making a concerted effort not to write about pregnancy so much. That might mean I write less in general. It might mean I write about some really random shit. It certainly means I’ll still be tackling the subject here or there, just not as frequently.

I just wanted you all to know that I realize what has happened to this space and I’m going to make a conscious effort to do things differently moving forward. Of course there will still be lots of stuff on parenting and being a mother, but (hopefully) a lot less about pregnancy.

I hope I haven’t scared you all away.

I hope I’ll see you here tomorrow. šŸ˜‰

5 responses

  1. I think you need to be who you are. And who you are right now is pregnant. And conflicted, in your excitement. This is practice for when you become a mom, and need to blog about that, too. šŸ™‚

  2. I have thought lately that you sound as if you are in a great peaceful place and frankly that is more important to me. If writing about this miracle pregnancy brings you happiness and joy then write about it.

Leave a Reply

