Banana “Ice-Cream” Smoothie

Luckily I’m not the type to crave sweets very much. If I start eating them a lot I’ll want them frequently, but usually I only crave them when I need a quick shot of energy. This diet really keeps my energy levels stable so I have hardly pined after chocolate or sweets.

Of course there are moments where something sweet and scrumptious sounds nice. I realized early on that this smoothing my mom used to make for me (and that I now make for my daughter) would work with our diet and I was so excited. I’ve only “needed” it a couple of times but I’ve been so glad to have it when my sweet tooth hits.

banana “ice-cream” smoothie

Adapted from my mom’s recipe 😉

photo-154

one frozen banana, sliced

unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or almond milk with a drop of vanilla extract)–about a cup

a couple of dashes of cinnamon

Cut the banana into small slices (if they are big they might not blend well) and put them into a blender (with this small amount the Magic Bullet works best).

Pour in enough almond milk to cover the banana.

(If you are including vanilla extract add only the tiniest amount. I usually dab my finger on the top of the overturned bottle and put it in the milk. The vanilla extract becomes overpowering REALLY fast. Another good idea is to include vanilla yogurt (if not following the no dairy diet) and adding just a bit of milk to thin it out.)

Add a couple of dashes of cinnamon on top.

Blend until smooth. Enjoy!

{When I make this for my daughter as a special treat I include Fage Greek yogurt for added protein (one serving of that stuff has 18 grams of protein!) and cold oatmeal if I have leftovers in the fridge. This is one of her favorite deserts and it fills her up too!}

One response

Leave a Reply

