Yellow Curry with Mixed Vegetables and Tofu

This is probably my favorite recipe ever. My mom made this long before I started “the diet” and when she told me it would work with our restrictions I was thrilled. I was also thrilled when she assured me it was REALLY EASY.

I didn’t really believe it would be really easy as my mom cooks a lot more than me, but honestly, this is an easy recipe. It tastes way better than it has any right to. There are two ingredients you probably won’t have in your cupboard (Thai curry paste and Asian fish sauce) but once you get them, they’ll last for a long time and you can use them to make this dish over and over again. I live two blocks from a huge Asian food emporium so I don’t have a hard time find this stuff. I hope you don’t either.

yellow curry with mixed vegetables and tofu

Adapted from The San Francisco Chronicle Cookbook Volume II

photo-150

2 Tbsp grapeseed or vegetable oil

1+ Tbsp minced shallots (we use an entire shallot or even 1/2 an onion)

3-4 Tbsp Thai yellow curry paste (or to taste)

2 cans unsweetened coconut milk (light is okay)

3 Tbsp Asian fish sauce

2 carrots, peeled and chopped into medallions

2 cups bite-sized broccoli florets

1 small butternut squash (0r 1/2 a larger squash), peeled and cut into 1 in cubes

6 ounces firm or extra firm tofu, cut into cubes (easily omitted if avoiding soy)

{Included in the original recipe but omitted by me:

1.5 Tbsps light brown sugar (seems really unnecessary as it’s already quite sweet)

2 kaffir lime leaves cut into thin slivers (couldn’t find these anywhere)

1/2 cup loosely packed Thai basil leaves (also hard to find – regular basil is fine too)}

 

(Before you start, skim the thick, creamy white coconut milk into a separate container. It might be solid with some brands).

In a large wok, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the shallots and curry paste, stirring for one minute (until fragrant).

Add the thick, creamy part of the coconut milk (about 1 cup) to the wok. Stir until simmering. Let the mixture simmer for 2 minutes or until fragrant.

Add the remaining coconut milk, fish oil and carrots. Bring to a boil and then reduce to low heat. Let simmer for 5 minutes.

Add the broccoli, squash and tofu and cook until the vegetables are softened as desired. Remove from heat (and add lime and basil leaves if you’re including them).

Serve alone or over rice.

NOTE: It is very easy to omit the tofu if you don’t want to – just add more of the other veggies or something new. It’s also easy to add other veggies that you might want to use; today I added two bell peppers because I needed to use them before they went bad. They tasted great in this curry, as I’m sure many other veggies would as well.

4 responses

  1. Mine too! I’m biased, but I do think Thai food is one of the great cuisines of the world. You could try this also with other curry pastes – try the Thai red curry, or green curry (my favourite) with kaffir lime leaves (though can be omitted). Massaman is also yummy, but often requires addition of peanuts, and I guess you’ll be avoiding those.

    Try this too – a nice simple vegetable stirfry flavouring – just add fish sauce, oyster sauce, a tsp (or less to taste) of sugar, and plenty of pepper (white preferably, but black is okay too).

Leave a Reply

