Continually bewildered

I got my first beta drawn yesterday and the results were available this morning. At what I’m pretty sure was 19DPO my first beta came back at…

…drum roll please…

10,475.

No what is not a typo, that is ten thousand four hundred seventy five.

So you don’t have to look it up, it seems 700 is a pretty average beta number for 19DPO. I thought my beta with Isa was high at 1,500 at 19DPO. I don’t know what to think about this.

My OB at Kaiser is totally nonplussed. My RE wants me to come in immediately for an ultrasound to rule out ectopic (not necessarily because of that number but because I had one before). So I’m taking the middle ground and getting another beta drawn tomorrow and getting an ultrasound done Friday morning. With that beta number they should be able to see something, so we’ll know if it’s intrauterine or not.

I still can’t believe this is happening. Every step is as surprising as the first. I’m just so incredibly grateful to be having this chance. I still can’t really fathom that this is my life right now. I’m continually bewildered.

15 responses

  1. Wow! I think that maybe this means you ovulated earlier than you think, especially when you consider when you and DH has sex (which you thought was 4 days before ovulation). That number is CRAZY high for 19dpo… but who knows, right?

  2. My beta with J was around 5000, about the same number of dpo. Which I thought was high. But ten thousand! Anyway, hope the follow-up tests all go well.

    (also, I remember them telling me that when betas are really high, sometimes they don’t double as fast, and that’s not a concern)

  3. HOLY CRAP! That’s a high number. I agree with Courtney, I think that you ovulated earlier and you’re more like 21-25dpo. That is crazy exciting. I can’t wait to hear how things go tomorrow and Friday. Good luck and thinking of you!

  4. I’m not surprised you’re bewildered. Just glad that you’re in the system, your doctors are monitoring you, and you’ll hopefully get some good news on the scan without having to wait for weeks.

Leave a Reply

