Chicken and Broccoli Rice Noodles (and a return to cooking)

I’ve been off of school this week, which was good timing because Mi.Vida’s had the flu. It’s the same thing Isa got and I’m just hoping I avoid it myself; he has been completely laid up with a 101+ fever for five days. Needless to say, I’ve spent the whole week taking care of him and Isa and trying to stay on top of the cleaning and laundry. Because of that, and some eating-out opportunities that arose, I’ve done almost no cooking. At first it was great but after a few days I started to get sick of all the take out. I actually MISSED cooking my food from scratch. I missed the ritual of it and I missed know exactly what was in each forkful that made its way into my mouth.

Last night, after I put Isa to bed and made sure Mi.Vida had everything I needed, I put on my headphones, turned on some Vedic Chants and made some chicken and broccoli rice noodles. I love this recipe because it’s easy to make and if you double the recipe you have a TON of food (which I bring to work for almost a week’s worth of lunches). I also love it because the rice noodles are super yummy. (Chinese rice noodles, which were always meant to be made with rice are so much better than the rice noodles that are trying to be wheat pasta). Also, this pasta has lots of broccoli, which we try to eat almost every day.

chicken and broccoli rice noodles

adapted from The Fertile Kitchen

photo-149

2 chicken breasts (1 pound)

1/4 – 1/2 large onion, diced

2 Tbsp olive (or grapeseed) oil

4 – 6 broccoli florets (4 oz)

5 oz thin rice noodles

Gluten-free soy sauce to taste

(2-3 cloves garlic – I add this)

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp salt

Cut the chicken breast into 1/2 in cubes, dice the onion (and garlic if you’re including it) and cut the broccoli florets into bite-sized pieces.

Bring at least a quart of water to boil in a large pot. Remove the pot from the heat and place the rice noodles into the hot water. Leave them to soak for about five minutes (check the packaging to see if it has a recommended soak time).

Drain the rice noodles in a colander and cut them with kitchen scissors (otherwise the noodles will be long and unwieldy). Put them aside until the cooking is finished. (I actually do this while I’m cooking so the noodles are warm and ready right when it’s time to toss them with the chicken and broccoli).

Heat the oil in large sauce pan or wok (I use a wok because I double the recipe and it’s A LOT of food) over medium-high heat. Cook the onions (and garlic) for about 3 minutes, stirring frequently.

Add the chicken, salt and pepper and stir for about 3 minutes, until the pieces are white.

Add the broccoli and cover for 3 minutes, or until the broccoli is at the desired tenderness.

Add the rice noodles and soy sauce and toss well.

4 responses

  1. This sounds so good! I’ll have to look for Chinese rice noodles. We can’t do soy but maybe I could use rice vinegar instead. Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

