Diet and Exercise

I was still super down in the dumps yesterday. I’m hoping it’s just PMS as my period was supposed to rear its ugly head. Of course it didn’t, which means my cycle is still out of whack as tomorrow is 15DPO and I’ve never had a 15 day LP. Also my boobs are still really sore and my temperature has been down for two days already. WTF body?! Talk about mixed signals. I just want it to get here so I can get it over with. It HAS to be the reason for this SUCK that has descended on me. A post in my reader made me start bawling today! That is not me right now.

I’ve been meaning to write about the incredible change I’ve felt since starting this diet and exercising regularly. I really do believe that together they have helped banish my most recent bout of depression. If you can remember what I was like in December… well… I was a different person than I am today. To think that I could be worse off back then, before I knew how hopeless our situation was just shows that depression is a medical condition that can affect people independently of their circumstances. Depression is not about someone handling something poorly, it’s about chemical imbalances in their brain.

I can’t be sure that the positive changes I’ve experienced in mood are the result of the change in diet and exercise but there is nothing else that it could be attributed to. I’ve witnessed a lessing of depression due to exercise before so I know that exercise does a lot to stave off depression for me. In fact, I first started suffering from depression when I quit swimming year round (I went from twelve hours a week in the pool to absolutely nothing because of one torn and one loose rotator cuff). I do believe I have enough evidence from over the years to know that exercise can help me banish depression.

I also believe the diet has helped, though that data is more circumstantial. The diet I’m following actually closely resembles the diet that is recommended for adults and children with ADD, and my symptoms have been more manageable since I’ve cut out sugar, wheat and dairy. I’ve also noticed a remarkable improvement in my chronic sinus congestion, which I had learned to accept as an unavoidably shittiness in my life. Knowing that I can enjoy clear sinuses by avoiding dairy is a powerful thing and I don’t know if I’ll ever go back to eating milk products like I used to. I think cheese is going to saved for very special occasions and that it’s the only dairy I’ll ever indulge in.

I’d like to believe that if these changes are making such marked differences in my life, they are doing wonders for my reproductive system, but I’m just not sure. The fact hat my cycle is still so off from BCPs I stopped taking almost two months ago is not a good sign. I know I must be patient, and I am, but it’s hard to believe we’ll actually achieve a viable pregnancy doing all this. Maybe that is just the impending period talking.

Today I’m meeting with an acupuncturist who specializes in infertility. I haven’t gone yet because I didn’t have the money but recently I found a tutoring gig so I can afford to see this woman for the time being. I’m so looking forward to having a partner in this journey, someone who can tell me if I’m doing enough or too much, if there is anything else I could do differently. I just want guidance and support and maybe a little cheerleading. Oh, and some hope would be much appreciated as well. We’ll see what she can deliver later today..

In the meantime I’m going to tackle the dozens of tests and projects I’ve left until the last minute of my week off to grade. I want to score these things like I want a hole in my head, seriously, but it’s got to get done and no one’s going to do it for me. Purple pen, here I come.

{OMG! I’m so bitchy right now. I just felt compelled to change my gchat status to: FUCK ALL OF YOU. And then I immediately thought, Why would I do that?! Oh please, AF, just come and put me out of my misery.}

4 responses

  1. I really hope you like the acupuncturist. I saw a fertility acupuncturist when I was TTC and I loved it- and was amazed at how much she could tell me about my body, cycle, etc. Keep it up on the diet and excercise- and I hope you have a good weekend!

  2. Sorry I’ve been absent and quiet lately… have been living offline for a bit while traveling. I really admire all the changes you’re making in your life through diet, acupuncture, and so on – it takes a lot of self-discipline!

    Do you follow Mud Hut Mama? She did traditional Chinese medicine and feels very strongly it helped resolve her infertility. I think I’ve seen her comment here but I can’t remember for sure.

    I’m going to have to try that green coconut soup recipe 🙂

  3. I just got around to this post and I have to say it’s sort of funny reading it now that I know you’re pregnant! I guess Aunt Flo decided not to show. (-: Interesting what you said about the connection between dairy and your sinuses. I’ve always been a really congested person, and I eat a lot of dairy. I wonder if that would help me too.

Leave a Reply

