Creamy Green Coconut Soup

{Yesterday I sent this text to Jjiraffe: I just took pictures of my dinner to post with a recipe. It’s like I don’t even know who I am anymore. And that really sums up how I feel about the fact that I’m POSTING RECIPES ON MY BLOG. Me. The girl who HATED to cook, is posting recipes, that she enjoys cooking. Watch out world, hell has finally frozen over.}

When I think of how many CSA boxes of chard, kale and spinach we could have gotten through with this amazingly simple, super tastey soup, it makes me want to cry. I literally get teary. I’m so glad we found it now, when nutrient-rich, cooked leafy greens are such a staple of our new diet. I don’t know about you, but there are only so many times I can eat sauteed or steamed spinach. And kale and chard? Well I’d rather never have to eat those, and for that reason–and its incredibly creamy, coconut taste–this soup is my new favorite staple.

(It should be stated that this soup is not hearty enough to constitute an entire meal but is great as a side or appetizer.)

creamy greens (coconut) soup

adapted from robin roberton’s quick-fix vegan

My HipstaPrint 948967365

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 small yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

5 cups greens, chopped (spinach, chard, kale or a combination)

2 cups vegetable or chicken broth

1 (14oz) can unsweetened coconut milk

salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot, heat the oil over medium heat and add the onion and garlic. Cook until the onion is softened and translucent (5 minutes).

Add the greens and stir until wilted (3 minutes).

Stir in the broth, bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to medium and simmer until the greens are soft (10 minutes).

Remove the soup base from the heat and let cool enough to puree in a blender or food processor (you may have to puree in batches).

Return to the pot and add the can of coconut milk and heat until hot.

Add salt and pepper to taste.

(This post is dedicated to Justine, who has taught me everything I know about sharing recipes (via her incredible food and life blog), and whose food-photography I will always hope–but never manage–to emulate).

3 responses

  1. *grinning* … this soup looks FABULOUS. Yum … I can just taste the greens and coconut! Thanks for sharing it (especially given that I’m trying to eat more vegan meals these days …).

    And YOUR photography is lovely, my friend. I am pretty terrible at taking pictures of people. Food? Stands still, thank goodness. 😉

  2. I made this as a side dish for dinner tonight and it turned out WONDERFUL!. I had to use collard greens, parsley and spinach because that’s what was available, but I can’t wait to try other greens, too.

    THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

