Faces of ALI: Secondary Infertility (And Me?!)

I’m sure most of you have heard of the amazing series Faces of ALI series that Jjiraffe started in response to the sensationalized stories highlighted in wide-read news giants like the New York Times. If you have not, you should definitely check it out ASAP.

I have to admit, I never thought I’d be profiled for the series, even when Jjiraffe asked me if it would be okay for her to write about me. I didn’t think my story was compelling enough to be included. But then I remembered that “real, every day stories” of adoption, loss and infertility are what Faces of ALI is all about, and I am probably a horrible barometer in measuring the interest my story would hold for someone else.

Thank you, my friend, for including me in this incredible project, for seeing in my story that which I couldn’t see for myself.

Thank you for this amazing gift. I truly am honored.

2 responses

  1. Thank you for allowing Jjiraffe to share your, Mi Visa and Isa’s story for Faces of ALI. Though I have been following you story for awhile, it was moving and bittersweet to read it that way, as a Faces of ALI Profile. I can only imagine what it was like for Jjfraffe to write this one about you, her best friend and likewise for you to read it.

    As many have commented on the post/your profile, the secondary infertility and loss storyline also hits very close to home for me. I appreciate Jjraffe focusing part of her post on some of the unique challenges that come with SIF. As with so many categories in the world of Adoption/Loss/Infertility I agree that “most people” don’t begin to understand what it is like to experience SIF and I appreciate her effort here to give people a window into the world of a family, your family, who wants more children and trying to conceive again is not going how they hoped and dreamed it would.

    (Note: this is an edited version of the comment I left on Jjraffe’s post/your Faces of ALI Profile. I hope you don’t mind. I am tired and wanted to comment here too, but didn’t have it in me to come up with some new to write. xoxo)

Leave a Reply

