A big thanks to my biggest fans!

At the end of the year WordPress sends its bloggers a year-end report. One of the parts I most appreciate is the list of top commenters (by volume). Last year I took the time to thank my top five commenters and I wanted to do the same this year.

Truly, I cannot adequately the gratitude I feel toward EVERYONE who takes the time to comment on my posts, but I owe a lot of thanks to these five amazing women who have taken so much time out of their own lives to lend my support.

When I told my number one commenter (and BFF) that she had snagged the title, she informed me that I hadn’t even made her top five. I was MORTIFIED. The truth is I’ve been a horrible commenter this year. And while I can offer a laundry list of reasons why that might be, it doesn’t excuse the behavior. I have decided that my only resolution this year is to comment more on people’s blogs. Comments make me happy and I need to be paying back–and forward–the love.

So without further ado, a small tribute to each of my top five commenters of 2012!

Jjiraffe {128 comments}

My BBF, my sounding board, my sanity. I don’t know what I’d do without this amazing woman. You may know her from her fabulous blog Too Many Fish to Fry or from her incredible series Faces of ALI, which highlights REAL stories of women struggling with the challenges of adoption, loss and infertility. When Jjiraffe got mad that only the ALI stories being told were those of the rich and whimsical outliers, she decided to take action and started her own series, focusing on the stories of rest of the 1 in 8; focusing on us. Jjirraffe is my hero for recognizing a real need for our community and actually doing something about it.

Justine {107 comments}

Justine has been an amazing support to me this past year and I can’t thank her enough for all her thoughtful comments, both on my blog and in my email. Justine incredibly blog, A Half Baked Life, seamlessly blends cooking, photography and life into a scrumptious stew of awesomeness. If you’re not reading her, I highly suggest you do.

Deborah {89 comments}

I love Deborah–and her blog Unglamorous–because she is willing to write about the tough stuff and she does so thoughtfully and with great poise. She also just welcomed her daughter after Christmas. Congratulations on the new addition!

Courtney {79 comments}

Courtney, from All the Sun For You, started following me before a lot of crazy shit went down and I was surprised–and touched–when she kept following me even when that shit was sprayed all over the walls of my blog. I appreciate Courtney’s unwavering support, and the fact that she has more hope for me than I can usually conjure for myself. It warms my heart that she believes things will work out for me, even when I can’t. I especially appreciated Courtney’s recent post called The Promise.

Elizabeth {69 comments}

What can I say about Elizabeth of Snips Snails and Puppy Dog Tails? She is forever my inspiration. To say she has been dealt a difficult hand is an understatement, and yet she walks through life with incredible grace. While I sit here bitching about my difficult life, Elizabeth expresses gratitude for what she has, despite all the challenges. Probably the only person who impresses me more than Elizabeth is her son Grayson. Together they have taught me lessons about strength and perseverance that I will never forget.

It’s worth mentioning that Jjiraffe, Justine and Elizabeth are all on my top five list for a second year in a row. Thank you ladies for you continued support! I couldn’t do this without you.

7 responses

  1. I have always loved your blog – long before the shit went down 😉 – and I still love it afterwards. Very few people are as raw and exposed as you – and I find that refreshing, being perfectly honest. Being honest with oneself is a wonderful gift that you very obviously have!

    I am looking forward to a great 2013 for you!

  2. Wow, I can’t believe I made your top 5! How exciting! Like Courtney, I love your honesty,and I’m glad I found your blog. I realized recently that you were the first person to congratulate me on my pregnancy, and the first person to congratulate me on my daughter being born. So really, I need to thank you too.

    I hope 2013 brings good things for you.

  3. Domination!!!!! YES.

    J/K!

    What a nice post! Commenters add so much to my life: I think it’s great you honored the top 5 like this. Like the others, your raw honesty always makes me think. Plus you are a really talented writer. You rock.

  4. I am so, so glad I made the top 5- I have been feeling awful lately for being such a bad commenter on your posts. You know I love your blog, your honesty, and your friendship. Wishing you nothing but blessings (and lots of comments!) in 2013!

  5. What a great idea….maybe next year when I’ve been on WP for the whole year I can do this too….I’m so grateful to any one who reads my blogs…I really should thank them for commenting…comments are virtual hugs after all, right? So cool!

  6. Thanks for your recent comment on my blog – I was really touched that you went back and re-read so many of my posts. I’m always reading here even though I don’t chime in every time!

Leave a Reply

