UF&FQ: A fantabulous day

First of all, thank you all for your kind comments on my last post. I know, rationally, that Isa’s behavior is understandable, and that she is learning valuable skills that will be used countless times throughout her life. And honestly, I am very happy with her being at a school that is close to home, where they speak Spanish and the teachers obviously care for her very much. We have to so much to be thankful for. But I just feel overwhelmed, with her behavior at home and with not knowing much about her behavior at school. It’s hard to feel so in the dark about all of it, because no matter how much I speak to her teachers (and I speak to them daily) I can never really KNOW what she’s like there, how she’s really doing, if she’s a pleasure for the other kids to be around or a nuisance they try to avoid. I guess this is just the first taste of letting my daughter out into the real world, and it’s as a hard a transition for me as it is for her.

Okay all, are you ready for some unicorn farts and fairy queefs? Because they are headed your way!!!!!

Today, Isa and I had a really good morning. My husband’s music website/podcast had a big event today so he was up and out of the house at 5am. Isa slept in until 7:45 and by some small miracle, so did I.

We both woke up refreshed and thankful to have the morning together. After breakfast and a viewing of Elmo’s Potty Time (while I washed dishes and picked up around the house) we went outside to clean off this used Little Tikes log cabin that my mom procured for us (for free!). The things was pretty dirty so I got hot, soapy water and some sponges and brushes and Isa and I went at it. She sat next to me, scrubbing away at the plastic walls and I realized for the first time in her life, we were doing something together, actually working toward the same goal. It was an incredible feeling and we both seemed to revel in it.

She somehow remained interested for almost the entire hour and a half it took to wash the whole thing off (bubbly water definitely helped keep her attention) and by the time lunch rolled around we were both contentedly tired and ready for a break.

Later my parents came over with some more stuff for the back yard and an hour later Isa had a new log cabin and a little slide thing. Oh, plus they brought her a little foot powered car. (All of this was free by the way! Score!)

(I love how my dad is photo-bombing the one on the left.)

While my parents were there my in-laws came to take Isa for the afternoon so I could meet up with my friends. Isa squealed with joy to see both sets of grandparents in the same room and I was struck by how incredibly lucky we are to have such involved and amazing parents so close. Truly, I feel like we won the grandparent lotter two times. It seems almost unfair how fantastic our set up is, both parents help so much with both Isa and our new house. We are truly blessed.

After everyone had left, I had a whole hour to myself to shower and clean up before my guests arrived (and man, did both the house and I need some attention). Then I got to show my new house to my two dearest friends (I LOVE YOU J & BB!) before we headed to my husband’s event.

It was a gorgeous day out and the three of us enjoyed visiting all the vendors (today’s event had music, food trucks and vendors selling their unique wares). I found one of my favorite vendors, a man who makes these incredibly comfortable pants, skirts, and shirts that I’ve bought before and loved. I was so excited to see him again (he’s been AWOL the past two years) that I bought an ungodly amount of clothes, but I don’t even feel bad because honestly, with my extra 7 pounds nothing feels comfortable anymore, and I just need some new color in my life right now (more on that later). So I got some stretchy pants, dresses and tops and I cant’ wait to wear them. It’s a welcome change from the melancholy and frustration I feel most mornings when I get dressed.

So all in all, it was a really lovely day. Truly, sitting here typing I feel very content. And I am so thankful for all that I have in my life. This amazing new house, my wonderful daughter, my amazing partner, my incredible friends and some fantastic new clothes. There, if you’re not suffocating from unicorn farts and fairy queefs by now, you are a more tolerant person that I.

I hope you all had a great Saturday as well.

Abiding with all of you,

E

3 responses

  1. First, your kid? Freaking adorable. As for the rest, congratulations on an awesome day! I just love when everything comes together perfectly!

    I feel ya on the grandparent thankfulness, I am not particularly close with my family, but with the influence of my husband and my daughter’s absolute passion for her family we are attempting to mend some bridges. I live on the same property as my in laws, and it is apparent if everyone has become too busy to shower attention on my little princess, she misses them terribly, and makes it known. Thank goodness for them.

  2. Life is both the shit AND unicorn farts: I love hearing about both. 🙂

    Sounds like it was a fantastic day and much needed for the both of you.

    Don’t discount how hard the full time daycare is on YOU, too. It’s tough to see your kid at her worst because she’s tired from a great and lovely day. I got through most of a month of school a couple years ago by feeling grateful that Lucky felt safe at home so that he COULD fall apart.

    He still does that, actually – holds it together amazingly well at school and then crumbles to whiny, crying, screaming pieces when he’s with us.

    Um. Yay?

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

