Perfect Moment Mondays: The Parking Ticket

I always want to participate in Perfect Moment Mondays but honestly, when the time comes, I usually can’t think of something to share. I believe that speaks volumes about the mental space I’ve occupied for the last four months.

So today, even though I’m typing this from the Juror Assembly Room at the SF Superior Court: Criminal Division, I will be sharing a perfect moment I’ve experienced recently.

A couple of weeks ago I realized I had forgotten to move my car for street sweeping. By the time I ran outside, dropping f-bombs all the way, there was a shiny red and white ticket tucked into my hood. I slumped over to the car, cursing myself for not setting an alarm on my phone as I’d promised myself I would. I was also angry that Mi.Vida hadn’t reminded me to move it when he walked right past it earlier that morning on his way to work.

But then, sometime magical happened. I reminded myself that in a year’s time this ticket would mean nothing to me, it would be a distant memory if that, and that I could spare myself unnecessary grief if I just let it go now.

And I did.

For some reason, that time, I was able to just let it go. I took the ticket inside and even when I see it every morning, reminding me it needs to be paid, I’m not upset about it. Needless expenses like parking tickets have always inspired an inordinate amount of anger in me, and I’ve always wished I could embrace the reality of the situation: that not far down the road it just won’t matter that much. And this time, for some reason, I could. And I was so thankful for that.

So that is my perfect moment, getting a parking ticket, as told from my first (and hopefully only) day of jury duty.

7 responses

  1. Esperanza, this is HUGE! To be able to reframe something in this way.

    The same thing happened to me when Tessa was a baby. I flew out the door in my bathrobe after a night of no sleep and the little yellow envelope had just made its way under my wiper blade. I was made for WEEKS.

    Heck, it still peeves me.

    I hope your jury duty day was interesting, at least. Glad you were able to get a post off!

  2. Oh that is huge, to be able to do that! Good for you! Parking tickets like that are so frustrating, but I appreciate that this time you were able to let it go. I am proud of you. I know that isnt easy. So glad you found this Perfect Moment and shared it! I was so happy to see you linked up this month! 🙂

    P.S. I hope your jury duty doesn’t last long or, as Lori said, if it does it is interesting.

  3. I love this! I am going to use this advice next time something happens that will be so small in a year. In fact, maybe I’ll try it now to calm my nerves because my child has been crying for an hour and a half- aaaa!

Leave a Reply

