Sit With It

The sadness descends. It is a thick fog perched on the hillside, tendrils sinking into the trees, past the houses, into my bones. It sits heavy under my skin. Invisible, it holds me hostage.

Just sit with it. Be very still, don’t try to run away. Just sit with it, let it be with you. Don’t chase it out. Don’t let it spin its stories. Just be there. Let it be there. Acknowledge it and set it free. It may choose to stay, it may go away. No matter the outcome, you will remain.

Is it hormonal? Is it irrational? Is it jealous impatience? Is it a chemical imbalance? Is it understandable sadness? It doesn’t really matter where it comes from, or where it’s going. All that matter is how it feels.

Dark. Suffocating. Endless.

Accept it. Feel it. Suffer it. Set it free. Don’t hold on to it. Don’t give it meaning. Don’t afford it undo respect. Don’t work it into a lather or spout it around the room. Just sit.

Just sit with your sadness.

Let your sadness sit with you.

Just sit. Just be.

3 responses

  1. Beautifully written.
    But impossible, these windows won’t windex themselves. And I’m sure I have a book in supposed to be reading around here somewhere.
    Sorry you’re going through this.

  2. “Set it free. Don’t hold on to it. Don’t give it meaning. Don’t afford it undue respect. Don’t work it into a lather or spout it around the room. ”

    Perfect. If that’s not a positive attitude, I’m not sure what is!

  3. I’m sorry for your depression. I keep battling internally with whether I want to stay on anti-depressants or not. Sometimes I feel like I have to choose between depression or numbness. It sucks. I just finished reading The Power of Now and your post reminded me of it. It talks a lot about not fighting things but just being present with them. I think you’d really like it.

Leave a Reply

