WTF Wednesday?!

I don’t generally have a problem with Wednesdays. I get to go to yoga on Wednesdays and when I’m done, there is only two more days left of the work week. I appreciate that very much.

Today though, has been a doozy. It started when I found out that I have to move rooms at school. I have over 200 posters etc. on my walls, not to mention myriad bookcases, cabinets and drawers brimming with materials and supplies. It will easily take two weeks to pack it all and then set up a new space; I’ll be lucky if I’m paid for one day of work. This means I’ll have to put Isa into day care early this summer, losing a good two weeks of my vacation while I’m at it.

This wouldn’t be such a big deal if I weren’t already so unhappy at my job. I can’t pin point what exactly it is, but I’m miserable there. And I can’t leave. And that makes me even more miserable.

Later my principal approached me asking if I would consider teaching a two period 5th grade English class next year. Not only would I have to learn a whole new, double period’s worth of curriculum, but I’d have to work with the little kids (I am so now in a 5th grade head space right now) AND I’d have to team with two teachers who have been partners for ten years and don’t appreciate people joining their group. Doesn’t that sound fabulous?!

Finally my fucking filling came out, a filling at the bottom of a front tooth, right near the gum. It’s painful, uncomfortable and incredibly unattractive. It will also cost a ton to fix, I’m sure.

So yeah. That has been my day. I cried all morning then had to stand in front of 30+ 12-14 year olds for four periods. Not the best way to start hump day.

Oh, and I had to reschedule tutoring for today so I’ll miss yoga and get home at 7pm. Not a good way to end hump day either.

If this post totally depressed you and you’re craving something positive (or at least not so fucking negative), you can read this post, at my new space, about something my daughter taught me.

(Does it bother people when I link to my new space? If so, let me know and I’ll stop.)

How has your Wednesday been?

5 responses

  1. Oh girl, I am so, so sorry. I am sorry that you are miserable and they are making you move rooms- been there, it sucks. Sorry you are having such a shitty day- and on yoga day at that 😦 boo!

    Also, I want to apologize for my lack of comments lately. I’ve been reading and thinking about you- just been in my own head about stuff lately and was having trouble reaching out to anybody (on the interenets and in real life). Anyway, SO excited about what’s coming for you (hopefully very soon) and will surely be tryiing to get back to commenting regularly. HUGS

  2. 😦 I’m sorry you’re in this space … though it does sound like it’s a message about change … I hope that you find a way to do something that leaves you fulfilled and happy.

  3. Two weeks’ unpaid work AND a whole new curriculum to learn? That doesn’t sound fair. Aren’t you a Spanish teacher? How could you just go teach English? That’s crazy. I wish you the best in finding something new – sounds like it is definitely time to leave.

Leave a Reply

