Time Warp Tuesday: Comments Please!

I know it’s the last day of my week long blogging hiatus but when I heard what this Time Warp Tuesday’s theme was I felt I had to put up a little something. It just felt like too perfect an opportunity after my reposts this week.

You see, this week’s Time Warp Tuesday is called Comment’s Please! The idea is to revisit a post that you liked and that got very few comments. I felt compelled to participate in this week’s TWT because I basically reposted all these past Mindful Monday pieces this week because they got very few comments when they were first published. I was hoping that if I put them back out there again, maybe they would ring true with someone who wasn’t reading me over a year ago when they were first published and that person would let me know in the comment section.

The Buddhist teachings of mindfulness and loving kindess are important parts of my life. Buddhist teachings have been some of the only pieces of wisdom to provide me comfort during TTC, our loss and the uncertainty of parenthood. Buddhism helps the world make sense. It brings me immense comfort amidst the suffering of life. It seems like the perfect lens with which to experience infertility, loss and motherhood.

I have to admit, I genuinely don’t understand why my Mindful Monday posts got so few comments. I know that Buddhism as a religion or belief system might not be for everyone but its teachings seem to transcend organized religion. Even if one believes in G-d or any other deity, the power of mindfulness and staying in the present moment seem like valuable teachings.

Perhaps the relevance of these teachings is not as universal as I believe. Perhaps I don’t present them all that well. Perhaps people just aren’t interested in this kind of stuff when the hustle and bustle of every day life is tugging them elsewhere.

I hope people don’t read this as a plea for pity. I’m not personally hurt that these post didn’t get many comments. I’m merely curious that they don’t seem to inspire much reaction. (Approaching a situation with curiosity instead of judgement is another valuable lesson Buddhism taught me.)

So today, for Time Warp Tuesday, instead of linking to a specific post, I’ll just ask that you pick any of the reposts from the last week (scroll down on the main page) – whichever you find most compelling and comment on that (if you feel so inclined).

What kind of posts most inspire you to comment? What kind of posts do you rarely comment on? Is there anything specific a blogger can do to better ensure you’ll comment (like end the blog with prompts such as these)? How do you feel when a post you hoped would receive comments fails to do so?

8 responses

  1. What kind of posts inspire you to comment? Storied, humorous and inspirational posts. What kind of posts do you rarely comment on? Anything beneath my interest. Is there anything specific a blogger can do to better ensure you’ll comment? You don’t have to leave prompts like these. But I can see how it’s a cause to action or rather cause to comment. You’re asking a question and questions have to be answered. It shows you care about your reader’s thoughts. But if the post is good then people will comment anyway. How do you feel when a post you hoped would receive comments fails to do so? It reminds me I’m writing for myself, which is true in my case.

  2. “I’m not personally hurt that these posts didn’t get many comments. I’m merely curious that they don’t seem to inspire much reaction. (Approaching a situation with curiosity instead of judgement is another valuable lesson Buddhism taught me.)”

    I think I definitely need to apply that teaching to my everyday life 😉

    I’ve enjoyed your Mindful Monday re-posts and agree that Buddhist teachings tend to make the most sense (at least for me) after going through infertility, loss, etc. The idea of letting go of control is central. I am not so great at that.

    I thought I commented on some of the re-posts, but maybe I didn’t? Off to check…

  3. I think this is a good post to apologize to you for my awful lack of commenting lately. My excuse- I am BRAIN DEAD and so tired after these last 2 weeks that half the time I can’t figure out what to respond to simple questions like “where do you want to eat” much less though-provoking Esperanza posts 🙂 Just know I am reading faithfully (from my phone, in bed, usually half comotose) and still here supporting you!

    I think I am more likely to be a repeat-commentor on blogs where the author reciprocates (because I’m insecure like that) or of course on a post that I can relate to or have some insight into. I do like the posts like yours that offer prompts at the end- maybe I should start doing that on some of mine.

    Sometimes I am a little surprised when some of my posts don’t get comments, but usually it’s because I’m surprised when someone I know IRL doesn’t comment that I thought would have.

  4. Thank you so much for doing the Time Warp with us this week, even in the midst of your blogging hiatus! It does seem to be the perfect topic for you this week and I am grateful this gave me another opportunity to read and comment on your Mindful Monday posts.

    This week has been very busy for me for a variety of reasons. I have been spending a lot of time on a project (that you are aware of, but is not “public knowledge” yet), so I have not given myself a lot of time to read and comment on other’s blogs. The sooner I finish what I am working on, the sooner I can move on and things will return a bit more to my normal pace (or so I hope).

    Anyway, this question of what compels any of us, especially me, to comment on others blog posts is an interesting one. It sounds so cliche to say “it’s you, it’s me.” But a lot of the time, it is just timing for me. If I am in the mood to really digest something and then share my thoughts. I am amazed though that sometimes I will go to a blog that I love (like yours) and skim through posts looking for something that resonates with me. Sometimes I will be moved, inspired or just find myself nodding in agreement with so much of what the writer is saying and can’t wait to share my thoughts and feelings about the subject. Other times I will just not feel a connection and move on without commenting, unless I believe the person really wants or needs my support for some reason and then I will try to comment regardless.

    Two of the greatest things I learned from our Stirrup Queen have been:

    1) The idea of letting someone know you are “abiding with them” if nothing else when you visit there blog. Kind of in the spirit of a Facebook “like” button. I try whenever possible to let a person know when I have stopped by their blog, as I know how much comments, feedback and validation mean to me.

    2) As you mention and use at the end of your post, those boldface questions/”writing prompts.” Whenever I am reading a blog entry and the writer includes them I am more likely to respond, if they are included, as it makes it that much easier for me to formulate something to say. Ever since I realized how often and effectively Mel and others do this, I have tried to include such questions and prompts in my posts too and find they do seem to elicit more “audience participation.”

    Thank you so much for doing the Time Warp again this week! I missed you last time and always appreciate when you participate! I hope that your blogging hiatus has been fruitful for you! xoxo

  5. Hmm, I didn’t comment much on the re-posts, but I enjoyed them, too. They were different from your usual tone, it seemed to me. Much more Zen. 😉

    I agree with Elizabeth, though … that prompts sometimes help to focus my response. On the flip side, that can be limiting … because the conversation might take an interesting and unexpected turn without them …

  6. Sometimes a blog post is a victim of the circumstances under which I read it. For example, I read a bunch of yours on my phone the other day while waiting around for something.

    So it’s good to have the chance to come back and tell you that I read everything and comment when I think I have something of value to say.

    And when I’m able to type without stupid autocorrect editing me.

  7. I agree with Lori about reading on my phone! I try not to do it because of that (but I usually fail). To be perfectly honest, Buddhism isn’t a philosophy that really resonates with me. I did enjoy your second arrow post a lot, although I can’t remember if I commented on it (was definitely reading on my phone while making dinner). I am Jewish, and I’m pretty committed to my own faith, and the idea of just accepting that suffering is part of life, without thinking about G-d’s role in it or prayer or how my suffering might fit into the rest of my life or the world just doesn’t help me that much.

    Which is not to say you shouldn’t write about it. The best part of reading blogs is getting to know other people. So if it’s something that’s important to you, it’s interesting to me to learn about why you find Buddhism so helpful.

    P.S. I’m glad to see someone else interpreting this topic the way I did (and the way I intended it!). I’ve gotten such interesting comments on the posts I highlighted.

  8. I like to comment on mostly anything, but I feel most awkward posting on pregnancy announcements. Mostly because I am so superstitious, and I also feel like any sincere feelings I have are probably blocked by the person’s presupposition that I am not really that happy for them.

    Oftentimes, I just write a quick note to let the blogger know that I am there, I’m reading, and I care.

Leave a Reply

