Useful Tuesdays: Inspiration (and good friends)

Lately I’ve been pretty down on myself. I have all this enthusiasm and drive to work on my children’s book but I don’t believe I have the ability. I’m grasping at an idea of what I want it to look like but I know I don’t have the capabilities in Illustrator or Photoshop to do it. And I’m not sure I can learn how.

I’ve never felt so unsure of myself. Never. And it’s kind of depressing.

I’ve been chatting about this with some other bloggy friends and today one of them sent me to a page with this written on it.

It blew me away because it’s exactly what I need to hear right now. Even if I can’t make what I want, it’s the “what I want” that’s important. And if I make a whole lot of something now (even if it’s all crap) eventually I’ll be able to make something wonderful.

So thanks Justine, for giving me the assurance that the crap I’m about to make in no way portends my future or what I’m ultimately capable of producing. That is exactly what I needed to hear right now.

6 responses

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ I suspect that you’re NOT going to make crap. But if you allow yourself to be OK with the possibility of making crap, then you’ll make *something*, and it just might be better than you thought it would be.

  2. Thank you for posting this! This is totally what I needed to hear. It’s day 5 of my 365 Project and I’m already disappointed in the images I am producing. This reminded me about WHY I’m doing the project – not to produce perfect photographs – but to learn and grow so that at the end of the year I can produce better images that I am now.

    In fact, if I think about it, my job will be easier if I start out producing average pictures… don’t want to set the bar too high too early! ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Hey lady, I have some experience in Illustrator and took a class last year in it…I’m more than happy to share with you my notes and even give you a little lesson, if you want.

Leave a Reply

